Of Paul Orude, Bauchi

the The struggle over the Muslim-Muslim All Progressives Congress (APC) ticket took a flip yesterday, when northern Christian leaders resolved to work with their northern Muslim counterparts to undertake one of many presidential candidates.

The group led by former Speaker of the Home of Representatives Yakubu Dogara and former Secretary of the Federation Authorities Babachir Lawal have vigorously resisted APC’s same-faith candidacy, insisting that it doesn’t mirror the spiritual plurality of the nation and shouldn’t be allowed to fly.

In latest weeks, the group has held a collection of consultations with key gamers within the occasion, the northern area and the nation demanding Withdrawal of assist for the ticket.

On Saturday, the group held a consultative assembly and dialogue with Northern APC Christian leaders and Northern Muslim political leaders on the NAF Convention Centre, Kado, Abuja.

A press release launched on the finish of the assembly yesterday stated attendees agreed to not assist the Tinubu/Shettima candidacy, however to work collectively and collectively undertake a pan-Nigerian political platform that engender unity, inclusion and a way of belonging amongst Nigerian residents.

The assertion was co-signed by former Sokoto State Deputy Governor Yakubu Dogara and former Water Assets Minister Mukhari Shagari.

It learn in elements: “Conscious of Nigeria’s multi-ethnic, multi-religious and multi-cultural make-up, we consider {that a} same-faith ticket and voting alongside spiritual traces can set off harmful dimensions of backlash between our disparate peoples in methods that may hamper the nation. constructing.

“Consequently, we’ve agreed to channel our energies into points that carry us nearer collectively as a individuals moderately than encouraging assaults on delicate points bordering on faith within the title of politics. In view of the above, we’ve agreed to ascertain a committee with the mandate to design methods to advance the goals established on this decision.”

He listed these current on the assembly to incorporate Boni Haruna, Abdulfatah Ahmed, Yakubu Dogara, Lawal, Damishi Sango, Idris Ahmed Umar, Yomi Awoniyi and Simon Achuba.

Others embody Ummara Kumalia, Baba Shehu Agaie, Monday Morgan, Ishaya Bauka, Mohammed Sani Sidi, John Bawa, Iliya Stephen Msheliza, Sarah Allabeh-Nanpon, Shina Ibiyemi, and Auwalu Anwar, amongst others.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here